Tags

, , , , , ,

Tomorrow (Monday) is the first day off for my 7-day Summer Break. I have a teacher leadership school year kick-off to attend and I need to work in my classroom since Admin had me move classrooms. Again. Fourth year, fourth classroom. Why break the streak?

Tuesday – In my classroom unpacking boxes and organizing. I’m hoping to be able to take a look at last year’s pacing and match it up with this year’s testing windows. I’d also like to get all the stuff for the first couple of weeks taken care of – classroom introduction letter, M-Comp assessments copied, plans in the plan book, etc.

Wednesday I’m back in my classroom again to finish setting up. At least I hope I’m finishing up – just organizing my classroom library is a three day task.

Thursday – There’s something I’m forgetting about for Thursday. I remember telling my husband that I had something to do… hope I remember!  **REMEMBERED! I had it entered on the wrong day in my planner – I’m speaking at the school board meeting about the bullying of teachers in the district by their admin, teacher and student working conditions, and the kick in the face that is the proposed pay freeze. I’ll let you know how it goes!**

Friday is the first day back for teacher who are new to our district. I’m going to go in to show some support and welcome them to the family. I wish someone had done that on my first day when I was freaked out and stressing.

We are heading out of town early Sunday morning and driving straight to Malibu. I’m taking the family to the hole in the wall dive biker hangout where I first encountered fried clams and clam chowder in sourdough bread bowls as a 7 year old kid. I haven’t been to Neptune’s Net in nearly 18 years and I’m excited to be heading back out there. Plus, the girl child has been begging for a trip to the beach for more than a year. It’s time to relent.

I’m super duper extremely excited for Monday, but I can’t say why just in case my daughter has found my blog. I’ll tell you all about it (with photos and hopefully a video) when we return on Tuesday. It’s been in the works for more than 4 months!

Then Wednesday it’s back to work to start the 15-16 school year. I’m tired just thinking about it, but excited to meet my new batch of kiddos!

As a sidenote – I’d like to mention that I’m a member of the Badass Teachers Association, or BATs.  Below is the mission statement that can be found at the following link: Badass Teachers Association Mission Statement

Badass Teachers Association was created to give voice to every
teacher who refuses to be blamed for the failure of our society to erase
poverty and inequality through education. BAT members refuse to accept
assessments, tests and evaluations created and imposed by corporate driven
entities that have contempt for authentic teaching and learning.

Our goals:

  • BATs aim to reduce or eliminate the use of high stakes testing
  • Increase teacher autonomy in the classroom and work
  • Include teacher and family voices in legislative decision-making processes that affect students.

If your views align with these goals, or if you want more information about the organization, please head over to facebook and do a search for the national Badass Teachers group and also check out your local chapters.

^0^